Our first exhibition of 2020 will feature proposals for our annual Gillian Dickinson North East Young Sculptor of the Year

Visitors are invited to explore the proposals in the Stables Gallery by 11 young artists who have been shortlisted to become the 2020 Gillian Dickinson North East Young Sculptor of the Year.

We are thrilled to share our shortlisted artists for the Gillian Dickinson North East Young Sculptor Award 2020. Over the coming months, these young artists will develop an installation proposal, with one ultimately winning the award and receiving funding to create and showcase their final piece at Cheeseburn in 2021. We can’t wait to see their work.

Shortlisted artists:
Angharad Creissen, Brandon Saunders, Cameron Lings, Jade Booth-Malone, Jed Buttress, Jenny McNamara, Laurie Powell, Maximilane Ley, Rebecca Mars, Taya Franco and Will Copley

Each artist is supported and mentored by Cheeseburn Curator Matthew Jarratt and the winning artist will receive £6500 to realise their idea at Cheeseburn in spring 2021.

The award is in its 5th year and was conceived by Joanna Riddell at Cheeseburn in 2015 and The Gillian Dickinson Trust has recently renewed their funding support for Cheeseburn to deliver this important opportunity for young artists for another 3 years.

The Gillian Dickinson Trust is North East charity which works to promote creativity in young people. www.gilliandickinsontrust.org.uk